OSA / Guide

By far the most comprehensive fonds related to the history of Communism and the Cold War in Central and Eastern Europe is that of the Radio Free Europe/Radio Liberty Research Institute (RFE/RL). These materials were accumulated during the 45 years of continuous activity, and are thus a major source of information about the region's post-war political, social and economic history. Of considerable importance are also Russian, Polish and Hungarian Samizdat materials.

See also Unprocessed Fonds

Fonds related to history of Communism and Cold War

HU OSA 124 Records of the Forced Migration Project (FMP), 1983-1999

HU OSA 124-1 Executive Office, 1993-1999

HU OSA 124-2 Programs, 1983-1999

HU OSA 205 Records of the Open Media Research Institute (OMRI), 1952-1997

HU OSA 205-1 Executive Office

HU OSA 205-2 Research and Analysis Department, 1977-1997

HU OSA 205-3 Publications Department, 1992-1997

HU OSA 205-4 Information Services Department, 1952-1997

HU OSA 205-5 Training and Special Projects Department, 1995-1997

HU OSA 205-8 Annual reports

HU OSA 206 Records of the Open Society Archives at Central European University (OSA), 1938-2000

HU OSA 206-1 Exhibitions

HU OSA 206-2 OSA events

HU OSA 206-3 Public Relations

HU OSA 300 Records of Radio Free Europe/Radio Liberty Research Institute (RFE/RL RI), 1949-1994

HU OSA 300-1 General Records, 1951-1979

HU OSA 300-2 East European Research and Analysis Department, 1951-1982

HU OSA 300-3 German Affairs, 1953-1973

HU OSA 300-4 Communist Area Analysis Department, 1972-1984

HU OSA 300-5 Analytic Research Department, 1951-1995

HU OSA 300-6 Media and Opinion Research Department

HU OSA 300-7 US Office, 1945-1973

HU OSA 300-8 Publications Department, 1950-1994

HU OSA 300-9 Information Resources Department

HU OSA 300-10 Balkan Section: Albanian and Yugoslav Files, 1943-1994

HU OSA 300-20 Bulgarian Unit, 1949-1994

HU OSA 300-30 Czechoslovak Unit, 1951-1994

HU OSA 300-40 Hungarian Unit, 1949-1995

HU OSA 300-50 Polish Unit, 1951-1994

HU OSA 300-55 Polish Underground Publications Unit, 1981-1990

HU OSA 300-60 Romanian Unit, 1946-1995

HU OSA 300-80 Soviet Red Archives, 1953-1994

HU OSA 300-81 Monitoring Unit, 1979-1995

HU OSA 300-85 Samizdat Archives, 1956-1994

HU OSA 300-120 Western Press Archives, 1949-1994

HU OSA 302 Samizdat Publications of Gábor Demszky, 1973-1992

HU OSA 302-0-1 Demszky Gábor irásai = Writings of Gábor Demszky, 1973-1990

HU OSA 302-0-2 Magyar Samizdat Periodikak = Hungarian Samizdat Periodicals, 1981-1989

HU OSA 302-0-3 Magyar Samizdat Kiadványok = Hungarian Samizdat Publications, 1978-1989

HU OSA 302-0-4 Szamizdat nyomtatás alapanyagai es a nyomdai előkészités dokumentumai = Preparatory materials for printing Samizdat.., 1980-1989

HU OSA 302-0-5 Kéziratok = Manuscripts, 1980-1989

HU OSA 302-0-6 A Magyarországi ellenzéki mozgalmak dokumentumai a 80-as években = Documenation of the Opposition movements in the 1980s, 1981-1989

HU OSA 305 Video recordings of the Black Box Foundation, 1988-1996

HU OSA 305-0-1 Documentary Films of the Fekete Doboz

HU OSA 305-0-2 Interviews Relating to the History of RFE/RL, 1989-1996

HU OSA 306 Collective Fonds - Records Relating to the 1956 Hungarian Revolution, 1956-1996

HU OSA 306-0-1 Textual materials related to the 1956 Hungarian Revolution

HU OSA 306-0-2 Photographs relating to the 1956 Hungarian Revolution collected by RFE/RL

HU OSA 306-0-3 Audio materials relating to the 1956 Hungarian Revolution

HU OSA 306-0-4 Video materials relating to the 1956 Hungarian Revolution, 1956-1996

HU OSA 307 ''VIN'' Programs Broadcast at Studio B Television - Belgrade, 1993-1996

HU OSA 307-0-1 Original Index to the Television Programs ''Weekly Independent News''

HU OSA 307-0-2 Television programs ''Weekly Independent News'', 1993-1996

HU OSA 308 Monitoring of the Yugoslav Television, 1996-1999

HU OSA 308-0-1 Analysis and Commentary of Yugoslav Political Events and Television Programs

HU OSA 308-0-2 Off-air Recordings of Television News and other Political Programs, 1996-1999

HU OSA 309 Monitoring of Television of Bosnia and Herzegovina, 1996-1999

HU OSA 309-0-1 Television Program Schedules

HU OSA 309-0-2 Off-air Recordings of Television News and other Political Programs, 1996-1998

HU OSA 310 Monitoring of the Croatian Television, 1996-1998

HU OSA 310-0-1 Television Program Schedules

HU OSA 310-0-2 Off-air Recordings of Television News and other Political Programs, 1996-1998

HU OSA 314 Interviews by Miklós Kun Relating to the Soviet Union, 1996-1998

HU OSA 314-0-1 Biographies of interviewees, 1996-1997

HU OSA 314-0-2 Oral history interviews with communist party officials, their relatives and dissidents, 1996-1997

HU OSA 317 Collection of Miklós Kun Relating to the 20th Century History, 1924-1996

HU OSA 317-0-1 Documentary films relating to the history of communism, 1928-1996

HU OSA 320 Collection of home movies of the Private Photo and Film Foundation - Péter Forgács Curator (A Privát Fotó és Film Alapítvány házimozi gyűjteménye - Forgács Péter), 1922-1989

HU OSA 320-1 Films, 1910-1996

HU OSA 320-2 Photographs

HU OSA 331 Interviews Relating to Chernobyl, 1996

HU OSA 331-0-1 Original index to video cassettes

HU OSA 331-0-2 Interviews with Chernobyl survivors, 1996

HU OSA 336 Personal Papers of General Béla Király, 1956-1996

HU OSA 336-0-1 Academic Papers, 1970-1985

HU OSA 336-0-2 Atlantic Research and Publication Relating Files, 1979-1996

HU OSA 336-0-3 Academic Correspondence, 1970-1994

HU OSA 336-0-4 Manuscripts, 1956-1994

HU OSA 336-0-5 Collectionof Documents relating to Opposition and Emigration, 1957-1989

HU OSA 336-0-6 Personal Files, 1987-1994

HU OSA 336-0-7 Press Clippings, 1944-1997

HU OSA 336-0-8 Private Correspondence, 1988-1992

HU OSA 344 Films of the Hungarian Workers Militia (Munkásőr filmek), 1958-1989

HU OSA 344-0-1 Documentary and Propaganda Films, 1958-1989

HU OSA 354 Records of the Democratic Charta, 1991-1994

HU OSA 354-1 Hungarian Charta, 1991-1993

HU OSA 355 Samizdat Collection of János Kis [Kis János szamizdatgyűjteménye], 1981-1989

HU OSA 355-0-1 Subject files

HU OSA 356 Personal Papers of Pál Schiffer, 1964-2001

HU OSA 356-1 Saját filmjeinek dokumentációja, 1965-1995

HU OSA 356-2 Filmes közéletben betöltött szerepének dokumentációja

HU OSA 357 Parallel Archive [Párhuzamos Archívum], 1949-1980

HU OSA 357-1 Records of the Historical Institute [Történeti Hivatal iratai]

HU OSA 357-2 Records of the Hungarian Ministry of the Interior [BM iratok], 1949-1989

HU OSA 357-3 Copies of Records from the Hoover Institution [Másolatok a Hoover Intézetből]

HU OSA 361 Personal Papers of András Hegedüs (Hegedüs András irathagyatéka), 1940-1998

HU OSA 361-0-1 Biographical data (Életrajzi adatok), 1980-1991

HU OSA 361-0-2 Essays, research studies (Tanulmányok), 1968-1980

HU OSA 361-0-3 Sociological writings (Szociológiai témájú írások), 1961-1991

HU OSA 361-0-4 Personal files, documents (Személyes dokumentumok), 1953-1991

HU OSA 361-0-5 Letters written by András Hegedűs (Másokhoz intézett levelek), 1956-1998

HU OSA 361-0-6 Letters written to András Hegedűs (Hegedűs Andráshoz írott levelek), 1957-1997

HU OSA 361-0-7 Political writings (Politikai témájú írások), 1946-1996

HU OSA 361-0-8 Writings by others (Mások írásai), 1946-1994

HU OSA 361-0-9 Workers' Academy (Munkásakadémia), 1990-1998

HU OSA 361-0-10 Press clippings (Újságkivágások), 1940-1996

HU OSA 361-0-11 Complete newspapers (Folyóiratok, újságok), 1961-1996

HU OSA 361-0-12 Manuscripts of institutions (Intézményektől származó kéziratok), 1956-1995

HU OSA 361-0-13 Interviews (Interjúk), 1968-1995

HU OSA 361-0-14 Literary works (Szépirodalmi kísérletek), 1960-1990

HU OSA 381 Electronic Archives of the Communist International (Comintern), 1919-1956

HU OSA 383 Collection of Géza Sáska, 1978-1988

HU OSA 385 Personal Papers of Professor Victor Fic, 1950-1998

HU OSA 385-1 Files relating to the Czech Legion in Russia

HU OSA 390 Personal Papers of Miklós Hollós, 1940-1995

HU OSA 390-1 Subject Cards, 1940-1995

HU OSA 391 Photographs of Gabriel Bodnar on the 1968 invasion of Kosice, 1968

HU OSA 394 Records of the Film Studio of the Hungarian Ministry of the Interior [BM Filmstúdió iratai és filmjei], 1955-1989

HU OSA 394-0-1 Documents [Iratok], 1970-1989

HU OSA 394-0-2 Propaganda and educational films [Propaganda- és oktatófilmek], 1954-1989

HU OSA 397 Samizdat Collection of György Krassó [Krassó György szamizdatgyűjteménye], 1958-1989

HU OSA 397-0-1 Periodicals [Periodikák], 1982-1989

HU OSA 397-0-2 Books and other publications [Könyvek és egyéb kiadványok], 1982-1988

HU OSA 400 Az MSZP Budapesti Reformkörének és a reformköri mozgalomnak dokumentumai [Documents Relating to the MSZMP Budapest Reform Circle and the reform circle movement], 1989

HU OSA 400-1 MSZMP Budapesti Reformköre szervezőbizottságának iratai, 1989

Online version updated: 17 September 2008

© 1995-2007 Open Society Archives at Central European University