OSA / Guide / Library

About OSA Library

The Library at the Archives holds the periodicals collection of the Radio Free Europe/Radio Liberty and the Open Media Research Institute. It also continues to acquire subscriptions to periodicals from the former Soviet Union and the Balkan States. The collection includes publications from and about Central and Eastern Europe and the former Soviet Union, as well as journals from Western countries about the history, culture, and politics of the region. Altogether over 30 languages are represented. Coverage is significant from about 1950 to the present. The collection amounts to about 6,000 serial titles. The Library also contains newspapers and journals on microfilm and microfiche (approximately 40,000 items) that are available in the OSA Research Room as either self-service or on request. Publications of note include the Polish Independent Publications , 1976- (Polish Samizdat) and the Prague Spring 1968 collection. There is a small but rapidly growing collection of Archival and Information Management Publications .

The books from RFE/RL were deposited with the Central European University (CEU) Library at http://matisse.ceu.hu/departs/library/libmain.htm . OSA systematically buys newly published literature on the Cold War and history of communism, thus continuously enhancing and updating the RFE/RL book collection now located within the CEU Library.

OSA Library is a non-circulating library and is open Monday through Friday, 9:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. For further information contact the OSA Librarian at dobok@ceu.hu .

© 1995-2012 OSA Archivum at Central European University